Search This Blog

Thursday, February 4, 2016

Ben & Jerry's Coming Out With Pareve Ice Cream!!

The Rebbelich are very excited about this new product; they will now be able to offer Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream at the friday night tish...

But Chassidim are not so happy, they are worried that the new Ben & Jerry "Chunky Monkey" will be so delicious that the Rebbe will eat it all up and leave no "shrayim!" 

Others have suggested that there is no way a Rebbe will eat an ice cream with the flavor named after a "monkey" .......a non kosher 'chayeh" ..... 
This reason has been shot down by a a chusid telling me "dee behimeh, de  Rebbe can always  eat the "Chocolate Fudge Brownie" .....

A Satmar friend of mine remarked that no matter how great Ben & Jerry Ice Cream is, it's not "nogia" to the Satmar Community, since Ben & Jerry are strong supporters of Israel and are selling their ice cream in the "shetachim" !!  
Nu nu!

Litvacks and the big brim yeshivishe guys  won't touch the stuff because it's not "yoson" it's still new!

Only time will tell!

Ben and Jerry’s is coming out with four pareve ice creams, the Vermont company announced on Wednesday.


Actually they called it vegan not pareve.
And the ice creams are technically called “frozen dessert” because ice cream needs to be dairy to be called ice cream. Dairy generally means it has to have a certain amount of milk fat.
The four flavors are made from almond milk.
So when will it come out?
Four to six weeks.
Among religious Jews the appeal is for Shabbos and Yom Tov desserts and among the Cholov Yisroel crowd – it is super welcome news.
“We’ve definitely had a large demand from our consumers to have a non-dairy offering,” says B&J spokesperson Lindsay Bumps.
Two of the new pareve flavors are non-dairy versions of existing Ben & Jerry’s classics — Chunky Monkey and Chocolate Fudge Brownie.
The other two are P.B. & Cookies and Coffee Caramel Fudge.
All four will be available to purchase as pints.
The blessing recited is shehakol. The question is, “Do we recite a shehecheyanu?”

2 comments:

anonymous said...

Um I don't think you're correct about the bracha being Shehakol for the PB and COOKIES flavor!

Chanie said...

The new non-dairy frozen desserts aren't considered pareve because they're stamped D.E. - made on dairy equipment.